Dirty Shoes

Join us with our journey through Autism Spectrum Disorder

October 21, 2016 October 22, 2016

Filed under: The Usual — Chobie @ 11:07 pm

Selena is a proud big sister to 2 little brothers. The 2 1/2 year old really get on her nerves at times, the 7 month old is still too cute to really irritate her. Give it time, it will happen! She i s 10 now and I can’t believe we have made it this far! We did move further south, so that meant a entirely new county and a new school system. After taking forever to get her into an appropriate school, we finally got her enrolled and started. A few weeks in between school was a difficult transition for Selena. Her teachers have already experienced her throwing her desk and ripping her papers into shreds. I keep reminding her that if she doesn’t do her work in class, she will be doing it when she comes home. A tantrum doesn’t get her out of it, it just interferes with her home fun time. Her and the para don’t get along, so it is causing some issue with Selena during her first small group session. The teacher has given her the option to move back to her desk and read or do her literacy worksheet. Selena has made good choices once so far, let’s hope she starts to make better choices when she understands that the work will get done, either way. Honestly though, they don’t have snack in there, it’s around the same time everyday when she starts getting like this. Maybe she needs a little pick me up? Look, you’re helping problem solve this already!

Selena is super into Legos right now, it is nice to see her creative juices flowing. She has already applied her building skills to real life, and made this cool little play thing for Jacob out of spare wood pieces. It was a good job, I was impressed. I wanted to start a Lego club for her, I am going to do some research and see if there is one in the area. If not, I don’t mind having one here, there is plenty of space for parking, etc. Just need to get all of these boxes emptied out and the house put together first before I start wanting people to come by! Plans aren’t really her thing, she is a free form thinker and architect. I will have to upload some pictures to this blog of her creations. I am hoping that Santa brings some Lego pieces because they sure do get expensive! Heh.

Her ninja skills are coming along. She is able to scale things better, and her tree climbing skills are most definitely improving. Now she just needs to work on the loudness at which she jumps and climbs down from things. Selena is a pretty good spy, so you should watch yourself around her, no secrets here! This has been going on for a few years now, so I am thinking that she may really want to be a spy, heh. I know a few retired spies, maybe they can chat with her about the skills and training needed to be the best spy around.

Selena is finally getting taller and she is starting to outgrow her clothes! Phew! I have been waiting for this day for years! I can’t wait to buy her some pretty new clothes. I do have a few bags of 6/8/10 stuff that is going out, so if you are reading this and know of a little girl that could use these clothes, please let me know asap, I am not holding on to them much longer! Her style is very girly, and she puts outfits together pretty well. Cleaning is still a super chore, so sometimes it is difficult for her to find her clothes. I want to get into her room and just organize the snot out of it, but these boys keep me so busy! Selena is probably relieved that I don’t have time to get in there and do a proper scrub down. Kids are so messy, even when they are clean they are messy.

Power Rangers are a new hit for her. She loves the action packed scenes and the monsters. Her face lighting up when she saw certain movies were available was so refreshing. Life is finally getting back to normal, thank goodness! We were already approved for ABA therapy, however I really don’t want anyone in here that isn’t my friend or family until the home is put together. Again, I’m pretty sure she is relieved that I don’t have a therapist in here just yet. It is coming girl, oh it is coming. I would love to be able to communicate in such a way that we have more stress free nights, more fight free nights, less frustration and more clarity. If your family has insurance and you are having behavioral issues at home, you should most definitely check into it.

Going to upload this before I never do. heh. Be on the look out.

 

Leave a Reply

